Rainforest Alliance Certified Agricultural Products

Expert Advice - TheGreenOffice.com

The Rainforest Alliance works to conserve biodiversity and ensure sustainable livelihoods by transforming land-use practices, business practices and consumer behavior. They set standards for sustainability that conserve wildlife and wild lands and promote the well-being of workers and their communities. Farms and forestry enterprises that meet our comprehensive criteria receive the Rainforest Alliance certification seal. They also work with tourism businesses, to help them succeed while leaving a small footprint on the environment and providing a boost to local economies.

Before a certification is awarded, a team of Rainforest Alliance-trained specialists measures compliance with the standards. The ten standards are:

  1. Social and Environmental Management System
  2. Ecosystem Conservation
  3. Wildlife Protection
  4. Water Conservation
  5. Fair Treatment and Good Working Conditions for Workers
  6. Occupational Health and Safety
  7. Community Relations
  8. Integrated Crop Management
  9. Soil Management and Conservation
  10. Integrated Waste Management

To learn more about the Rainforest Alliance visit their website at www.rainforest-alliance.org